Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 04-13-2008, 12:42 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 235/228/199

Height: 5'3

Default how do you lose weight if you're sick all the time?

Hello, this is my first time posting in this forum. I am really struggling to lose weight and change my life to healthier lifestyles, but I am having some troubles beyond my control right now.

I have an immune deficiency, which means that I catch anything that goes through and it takes me forever to get better. If I can live a normal lifestyle with healthy eating, regular exercise, and 8 hours of sleep a night, then I tend not to get sick. Unfortunately, I'm a teaching intern at a boarding school and my schedule is grueling. If I go for two nights in a row with less than 7 hours of sleep, I will automatically get sick. My job is so rough on me that I've had a really bad cold for almost a month now. I'm exhausted all the time and my nose thinks its a faucet, and I know I could get better if I could sleep straight through the next few days, but I can't since I'm a teacher.

I don't know what to do. I can't eat very healthily because boarding school food is included in my salary, so I can't really afford to purchase my own food on top of that. When I'm sick I don't have the energy to exercise without getting dizzy and needing to take a nap, which means that I don't have time to grade homework and plan my lessons.

I feel like I'm trapped in this cycle of illness and there's no way I can get out of it. Until I do (which is the end of May) I'm not going to make progress on my weight loss the way I should and I'll be tired and miserable all the time!
emmyroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 01:12 PM   #2  
Low Carb Lolita

S/C/G: 185/see ticker/135

Height: 5'7"