Old 07-17-2007, 01:22 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 224/212/140

Default How do I get started?

Does one just show up at a local meeting, or should I call first?
Ann72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 03:21 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 166/166/130

Height: 5ft1inch

Default Just show up

Hi Ann,

Good to read your posts - I can relate to a lot of what you wrote about the black/white mentality. I don't promote OA, but can share my experience of it with you. Like you, I'm on a search for a way to be balanced and healthy around food. Personally, I need help with this - food for me is very tied up with stress and emotion. I'm only learning about this now, through OA.

But OA also gives me the freedom to connect with my own intuition regarding a good food plan. These days, I can actually trust my intuition because my compulsive overeating is not blocking my true instincts, if that makes sense.

Like I shared before, I avoid sugar for the most part, but don't consider it a major relapse if I have a little bit in an appropriate context. Same with wheat and flour. I also need to lose weight, so with OA's help, I'll be soon looking at portion control. I'll put an example of my food plan today at the end of this post, which may help.

I just showed up at the meeting Ann, and got a warm welcome. I've been to a few around town, liked them all, but feel very good about the meeting I found on Saturday. I wish you well on your search. I've tried a very rigid food fellowship, where I became more obsessed than ever - spent half my life reading the small print on small packages in the supermarket frantically trying to suss the various terms for sugar. While I'm glad to be aware of marketing ploys, I was so frightened of 'relapse', I didn't know what to be buying!