Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 01-14-2012, 03:16 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 184/173.9/145

Height: 5'2"

Default exercise based off of?

Hey All,
I'm keeping track of my exercise (which is just walking right now but will move into jogging shortly I think!), and as I'm entering my info into my handy-dandy Excel spreadsheet, I started wondering what people (as in you guys) keep track of/work towards when they're exercising.... mileage, minutes, or calories burned?
Thanks!
Curiously yours,
Erin
ELBS717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:34 PM   #2  
super geek

S/C/G: 185/151/138

Height: 5'9

The thing that I focus on is minutes, because I'm just getting started exercising regularly. It's more important to me to just get out there and do it, and focus on intensity/distance when it has become a habit.

I don't track the calories burned through exercise, because calculations can be really inaccurate and I'm not exercising to 'make up' for or burn off extra calories. I'm doing it for fitness and health.
rocket pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:38 PM   #3  
My goal = health

There are so many websites where you can keep track of your exercise.
Some a geared towards runners, some are general.
I;m not sure I'm allowed to post them here, though.
RRB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:39 PM   #4  
Melissa

Height: 5'6.5"

Last year I calculated by miles. This year by time. The reason for the change is that I don't always do the same activity and counting miles would be impossible in a lot of excise - like spinning, step aerobics, yoga, weight training, etc.

I don't do calories burned because I don't trust it and I don't eat back calories.
berryblondeboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:43 PM   #5