Old 01-10-2012, 07:28 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 191/185/145

Height: 5'5"

Default Question for those of you successful at losing weight.

What are you doing exercise wise and eating wise that works. I'm a simple kinda gal and like things simple not complicated. Not that I'm not willing to put the work in, I am. I just don't want this crazy exercise schedule or crazy diet or way of eating. Not to mention, I'm a simple kinda cook. I just want what works. Right now, I'm walking briskly 5 days a week and eating whatever I want using portion control and calorie counting.
kandyrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 09:32 PM   #2  
one choice at a time

S/C/G: 275/155/189/???

Just what Kara said - my plan is exactly the same.

I've developed a lot of routines so that I always have healthy, on plan choices available to me - this helps me avoid getting stuck with "no choice" but to go off plan. For example, I cook large quantities of good proteins (usually fish, chicken, or lentils) on the weekends, so that when I get home from a long day at work all I have to do is prep some vegetables and dinner is ready.

The only other element I'd add is patience. weight loss doesn't happen overnight, and it doesn't happen in a nice smooth downward curve. Some weeks I don't see a loss. But over time, over weeks and months, I do. That is the time scale I focus on. Focusing on a longer time scale also makes it easier to recover from slip-ups. I can't ruin my whole plan with one poor choice or indulgence - it is just one eating event, among weeks and weeks of on-plan days and good choices.

You can do this! Just stick to your plan, no matter what.
carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:20 AM   #3