South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 03-10-2011, 01:25 PM   #1  
Yes I can!

S/C/G: 203/193/165

Height: 5'11''

Question what to order at a mexican restaurant? PH1

I was wondering what is safe to order at a mexican restaurant, it is my second day and I am going out and I don't want to mess it up.
Thanks
Old 03-10-2011, 01:32 PM   #2  

Height: 5'4"

Hey -
I get the chicken fajitas with no wraps, no rice, and no chips - I ask for extra veggies instead. Salsa is usually good too!
Old 03-10-2011, 01:34 PM   #3  
Onederland or bust!!!

S/C/G: 325/See Ticker/150

Height: 5'9"

I'm no expert here, but I would say fajitas! I would go with the chicken fajitas, tell them not to use butter on the meat! I have worked in Mexican restaurants in the past and my bf owns one... They almost all BATHE their fajitas in this Parkay-type liquid butter. It tastes good, but that is not a good fat! Ask them to hold the rice and the cheese (the majority of traditional Tex/Mex joints use that mild shredded white cheese--turns out it's white American! Not a healthy or reduced fat option by any means!) and probably steer clear of the beans, too, as they're typically cooked with a pretty large quantity of lard. If they have black beans instead of refried, that will be your better option. I personally order 'chicken fajitas, no butter, no salt. Hold the rice, beans and cheese. Hold the tortillas. Bring the fajita skillet and the accompanying lettuce and pico de gallo. Sour cream on the side. And an order of sliced avocado." Then I make a salad out of it with the chopped avocado, pico de gallo, and a little salsa on top. I may be forgetting or omitting crucial details here, so if I'm forgetting something, I'll leave it to the more experienced chicks to step in with more suggestions!

Last edited by RandoMandaPanda; 03-10-2011 at 01:36 PM.
Old 03-10-2011, 01:35 PM   #4  
beachin'

S/C/G: 240/125/130

Height: 5'8