General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 01-24-2011, 03:06 AM   #1  
Chronic Pain Fighter

S/C/G: 165/?/128-132

Height: 5' 10''

Default Help!!!! Thinking of going vegetarian for a while :-)

Hello everyone,
So I have been on this weightloss journey or more like a lifestyle change for a while... I tend to lose weight slower cause I have been battle bipolar so alot of times I end up fighting for my sanity so gaining a few lbs takes the back burner... Battles everyone knows how it goes...
So I eat pretty healthy for the most part with the occassional treat or splurge here n there.. I work out 3x a week min, I am a full time grad student with other commitments as well..
I have been thinking of giving up meat for a while, to see if it will give me more energy/ weightloss. I know it's calories in vs calories out...
I was wondering what you guys thought...any feedback will be great or ideas on a good recipe book cause I still need the protein...
Thanks,
Ah
desiresdestiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:52 AM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

Hi,

A little over 3 years ago, I went vegan. It actually didn't help with my weight loss since a lot of my favorite things like nuts, dried fruits and bread are vegan. The only thing that has helped me with weight loss is cutting back portions and monitoring my dietary intake. I do enjoy being vegan though.

I just bought a book called "Cinch!" which is by the co-author of "The Flat Belly Diet" and someone who used to work for Prevention magazine. I think the diet is pretty well balanced.

A good book on overall vegetarian nutrition is a book called "Becoming Vegetarian" and there is a similar "Becoming Vegan" book. Basically, getting your protein isn't hard as long as you eat a mixture of foods and limit processed foods.