Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 12-16-2009, 11:57 AM   #1  

Default Have you been injured while working out?

If so, what kind of injury was it, what did you do it, and how quickly did it heal? Also, do you think that you could have prevented it?
Veronica133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 12:20 PM   #2  
Waddle fast Flap hard FLY

S/C/G: Top 272~restart 255

Height: 5'7

I've been exercising for about 4-5 years now. I follow workout DVD's. I've done P90x, and STS. I consider myself somewhere betweens intermediate and advanced, and on a good week exercise 5-6 times for about 45-60 min.

The worst I've done is pulled a back muscle trying to lift a 75lbs barbell for a deadlift. Uh, duh, what was I thinking??? Yes, that could have been prevented. Counting would have helped! I stetched immediately, iced etc. I did not try to lift anything heavy for about a week, and I was fine. I'm sure because I exercise I healed faster. My physical theapist friend told me the muscle I pulled is a very popluar muscle to pull, LOL. and that happens frequently. However, since then I find its easier to pull this same muscle again and again if I don't pay attention. If I find that I have 'done it again' stretching is my best bet; if I don't stretch my muscle often after I have pulled it it becomes stiff and takes longer to heal.
patchworkpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 12:29 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 163/128/125

Height: 5'5

Yes, I thought I sprained my ankle on a bar jump during a police fitness exam. Turns out I had actually broken it, but didn't find out until a year later.

I still can't run more than 2 miles without severe ankle pain. This was about 4 years ago. Bottom line - get it checked out or else you could screw it up for life like I did!
sacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 01:23 PM   #4  
Soul Cyster

S/C/G: 235/seeticker/135

Height: 5'3"