Old 03-05-2006, 12:14 AM   #1  

Default Desperate...need advice

I am new at this so I apologize now for any spelling/editing errors. I am 36 years old and have struggled with my weight most of my life. I have been training since last march to participate in the sprint triatlons. I participated in my first one in August, my weight was still very high, 225 pounds and I am 5 ' 5. A year later and I am still fighting the 220's. I work out religously 5 days a week. Tue - Thur 1 hour weights and 30 minutes cardio. Mon - Wed. 45 minutes of hard cardio(spin). One day swimming. I purchased a heart monitor that will tell me when I am slacking. I visited a nutritionist and found that I was on track for the most part. I consume between 1,300-1, 500 calories. I really don't know what to do at this point. I am extremly frustrated. I was so angry that I decided to add addtional weight in my weight training class, if I was going to stay fat I will at least be strong. I know some of this has to be muscle weight... I am writing this in hopes that someone has had a similar situation and can guide or offer a suggestion. My next triathlon is in april... Again, I will probably be the largest women and my times will suffer because I continue to carry this very large stomach around.
girlybooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 12:36 AM   #2  

I'm not an expert but I think you need to take in more calories. You seem to be exercising a lot and doing a lot of weight training and your body may just need more calories to keep up. I know that when I was working out for 1 1/2 hours per day, my body didn't seem to want to lose any weight. I've lowered it a bit to a little less than an hour and my body seems to be responding. It does suprise me that you haven't lost anything though. Good for you for sticking with it while seeing no results. I probably would have given up by now. I can't wait to see what others have to say.

Amber
AmberM is offline   Reply With Quote