Old 08-17-2005, 03:03 PM   #1  
Kira

Exclamation Shopping

I am a overweight college student in Somerset, Kentucky. In my English 101 class, I have a paper to write on anything I would like to argue about, something that just gets to my nerves. My topic would be about how overweight citizens getting treated like garbage in department stores and restaurants. I have noticed it happening with my sister in law. Men will hold a door open for her, salespeople will offer all their support, and she is treated like a queen next to plus size me. They look at me like I am a second class citizens, and offer no help or support. She is a size 8 or 9, and I am a size 24. I am proud of who I am and what I am, but I will not stand by and let these people treat me like I am nothing compared to them.
If this has happened to you, or you know a story of this happening, fill me in. I know I am not the only person this has happened to. It is time to stand up and show myself for who I am regardless of my extra curvy body.
mommy_1092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2005, 12:20 AM   #2  
All That's Left of Me

Amen sister! I have complained about this on so many occasions that it has truly become a major gripe of mine. I am constantly aware of the sharp contrast in the treatment you receive based on weight, especially because I was thin not too long ago. People who do not, and have never had a weight problem (as a generalization) see overweight people as being lazy, or just plain defective due to a lack of willpower. Humans are a prejudice bunch by nature...throw in any sort of deviation from the norm, and there is bound to be discrimination (both overt, and covert). This is not always a purposeful act, stereotypes are a hard thing to get passed, and many times the person who seems to be rude/discriminate doesn't mean to act that way. "Forgive them Father, for they know not what they do".

Amanda
amandaholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2005, 07:48 AM   #3