Old 12-28-2006, 02:58 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 329/223/147

Height: 5ft5

Default I've lost 106lbs over two years - 76 to go!

Hi there,

Why have I not discovered this site before?! It's great. I am so pleased to read other people's experiences of trying to lose what seems to be an impossible amount of weight to shift - I thought it was just me.

As the title says I have been working at losing weight for nearly two years now and have lost 106lbs so far. This is incredible to me and I can't quite believe it as it's been so slow and difficult and I've struggled at times and the scales have rarely budged this year. But it's a fact.

In Jan 2004 I weighed a whopping 23st 7lb or 329lbs
In Jan 2005 I weighed in at 21 st 7lb or 301lbs
In Jan 2006 I weighed 17st 9lbs or 247lbs
In Jan 2007 ? not sure but at the moment I weight 15st 13lb or 223lbs

As for exercise:
In Jan 04 - lying on the sofa, getting out of breath posting a letter
In Jan 05: built up to walking every day for an hour, tried a short term gym membership for six weeks, went swimming for the first time in 12 years
In Jan 06: Continued with daily activity. Joined a gym and went 3 times a week for the whole year to do cardio/ strength training. Went swimming twice a week Spring and Summer. Joined pilates and yoga classes to try these out. Went on a very active holiday to China that would have been impossible for me to enjoy at my heaviest and unfittest and I climbed four mountains and the Great Wall of China - it was tough but I did it!
In Jan 07: Having never ran before I plan to run a 10K in October - this will involve losing another 40lbs before I can even begin training - so the weight loss has to get started again.