Vegan Protein Tips For Enhancing Your Diet

When you decide to give up on meat and follow a vegan diet, you lose an important source of protein. However, there are plenty of vegan protein sources that can assure your necessary intake. Finding out how many proteins you need is simple. All you have to do is to multiply 0.36 grams of protein by your body weight in pounds, or 0.8 grams of protein by your weight in kilograms. Once you determine the recommended daily amount, you need to find a source that sustains it.

Protein Tip #1: Vegan Protein Bars

Vegan protein bars can be used when other options are not available. Such a vegan protein bar is based either on soy, oats, or quinoa and is meant to provide at least the same amount of proteins as milk or other dairy products. You can rely on these, as most of the vegan protein bars contain around 20 grams of protein.

Protein Tip #2: Quinoa

Quinoa represents a species of goosefoot that originates in the Andean region of South America. This plant contains between 12 and 18 percent protein, so it is a good candidate for replacing meat. Quinoa is also rich in lysine and several other essential amino acids. More than that, it contains high amounts of iron and magnesium, as well as dietary fiber and phosphorous. Since it does not include gluten, the digestion of quinoa is performed without any difficulties. 

Protein Tip #3: Tempeh

Tempeh is a vegan food made from soybean through fermentation. Unlike tofu, tempeh is based on whole soybeans, and because of this fact it contains more protein, vitamins, and dietary fiber than the vegan cheese. Its texture is another factor that distinguishes tempeh from tofu. In addition, this food is digested easier due to the fermentation process. Most frequently, tempeh is diced, dripped in a salty sauce, and fried. Next, it is either eaten alone or added to sandwiches, salads, and stews. In modern recipes, you can even see sausages and bacon made from this soybean product. In 2008, Swedish scientists replaced soya with barley and oats, and created a new type of tempeh. This way, the production of this food can also take place where soy cannot be grown because of harsh weather conditions. 
Protein Tip #4: Seitan

Seitan, or wheat gluten, represents a vegan product that is obtained from the gluten of wheat. Its production implies washing wheat flour dough with water until the starch melts and only an elastic mass remains. Unlike most other meat replacements, seitan has a chewy texture. This vegan food is found in many forms that differ from one country to another. For example, in China it is available as oil fried, steamed or baked gluten, while in Japan it is either consumed raw or dry baked. On the other hand, in Western countries, seitan is available in raw form, packaged, and plays the role of high-protein snack. In order to become more attractive, the products based on wheat gluten have different shapes and flavors. 
If you are concerned about your protein intake, these vegan protein sources will supply the adequate amount. Since they come in various forms and with different flavors, you can change the proteic source regularly.


About Author

Posts By content