3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Whole Foods Lifestyle (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/whole-foods-lifestyle-209/)
-   -   Gluten Free Diets (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/whole-foods-lifestyle/255333-gluten-free-diets.html)

sensualappeal 03-21-2012 07:17 PM

Gluten Free Diets

Anyone on a GF lifestyle? I've seen a lot of recipes for nice desserts (I'm a baker) and they were GF and it made me wonder... just because they are GF, does this mean they are healthier? What's the difference really, nutrition wise? Calorie wise?

Suzanne 3FC 03-21-2012 08:35 PM

I've been gluten free for a little over a year now. I initially tried gluten free baked foods but I didn't like them, they had odd tastes and textures. I also was a bit put off by the long ingredient lists, including some highly processed ingredients that didn't seem very 'whole' to me. Some were better than others, but I personally found that they just weren't worth the expense and I'd rather just give up sandwiches and cakes.

Gluten free foods may not be healthier, and they can be the same or higher in calories. The only benefit to GF foods is that they will not cause you to get sick, the way gluten affects many people.

flourless 03-21-2012 08:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sensualappeal (Post 4262735)
Anyone on a GF lifestyle? I've seen a lot of recipes for nice desserts (I'm a baker) and they were GF and it made me wonder... just because they are GF, does this mean they are healthier? What's the difference really, nutrition wise? Calorie wise?

The difference really is that they don't have gluten in them. Some people don't tolerate gluten (celiac disease, gluten sensitive enteropathy, FODMAPs, whatever). Different substitutes for wheat have different characteristics, so it's hard to say "healthier" or "less healthy"