Hello Im a newbie to whole foods vegan lifestyle :)

• Hi Im Autumn, 34 year old sahm. I am a new vegan as of a month ago due to gallbladder removal. I also avoid gluten due to celiac disease and soy due to my thyroid condition. I also have trouble with nuts seeds and oils. Currently my fat consists of fish oil and flax seed. My main diet consists of a variety of beans, rice (preferably long grain brown rice) veggies and fruit. I also limit potatoes and tomatoes with me having calcium absorption problems.

Im on a road to lose 169 lbs as of yesterday. I have lost 16 pounds total so far but I believe I had quite a bit of bloating due to dairy and meat products.

I did post on the veggie board but its a little slow paced. Can I join you all?

Autumn
  • Quote:
    Currently my fat consists of fish oil and flax seed
    Not to criticize but if you are taking fish oil then you are not a vegan. Good job on the weight loss. You may want to consider just going with the flax if being vegan is important to you.

I am on the slow road to veganism, I still eat dairy once a day most days. Good luck with your loss!
  • Hello! I am vegan and eat a whole foods diet. PM me anytime of you need support!

There are many great sources of EFA's that are indeed vegan, from oils to whole foods themselves.

Ciera, would you share your motivation to eventually become vegan? I always like to know why people make this choice (a great choice, in my opinion!).
  • Hello! I am fairly new to this section myself. I am not vegan but I am in the process of moving to a whole foods lifestyle.
  • Welcome everyone.. glad to have you.! You'll love the food!
  • Welcome, Autumn! I'm fairly new to the whole foods area of 3FC, but not to whole foods lifestyle. I'm not a vegan, but enjoy many of the foods vegans like.