3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight and Resistance Training (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training-80/)
-   -   Working the back (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training/278948-working-back.html)

CherryPie99 04-02-2013 06:01 PM

Working the back

Can I get some advice here? I've been lifting weights for about 2 years now. I use free weights and also my Bowflex. (No hating on the Bowflex please, I LOVE it).

Anyway, my arms and legs are pretty muscular, as are my shoulders. But my back has NOTHING. What am I missing?

http://i47.tinypic.com/2uqor9y.jpg

Ilene 04-03-2013 08:24 AM

Pull ups are the first thing that come to mind... it would widen you lats and make your back more V shaped...

GirevikNA 04-03-2013 11:24 AM

Pull up, lat machine, deadlift, dumbbell or barbell rows are the best exercises for having a large and thick back. Reps should be very controlled, you have to feel the muscles work.

Silverfire 04-03-2013 11:41 AM

Jebus your arms/shoulders look awesome. Wow. No real advice from here though... :)

CherryPie99 04-03-2013 01:34 PM

I think I'll have to get some pull up assist bands. I can do a few chin ups without assistance, but can't do pull ups at all.

I already do lat pulldowns, deadlifts and dumbbell rows.

I'm not sure I want to drop much more body fat, though, so maybe I'll never have a defined back...

krampus 04-03-2013 02:15 PM

I wouldn't say that's "nothing" - at all. You're your own harshest critic and your shoulders are FABULOUS - I'm very envious. My back is my best feature but as you can see the lower half is still doughy - I'm too lazy to do a cut so here I am.

That's awesome you can do chinups without assistance too. I'm working toward that, I can do exactly zero from dead hang :(

CherryPie99 04-03-2013 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampus (Post 4692581)