3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight and Resistance Training (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training-80/)
-   -   new to the gym (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training/239985-new-gym.html)

tiffanylee 08-04-2011 11:40 AM

new to the gym

I joined a gym on Tuesday...And this is what I've done so far.
Tuesday: Cardio 25 min, all the leg machines 3 reps of 10, and cardio 10 min
Wednesday: Cardio 25 min, all the arm machines 3reps of 10, cardio for 20 min, arm machines 3 reps of 10, walk for 15 min, and a hour of zumba.
Today: about 30 min cardio, and a piYo class.

i need some sort of workout routine i could follow.. any suggestions?

fitmom 08-04-2011 11:48 AM

I'm not an expert but what about free weights? Cardio and the machines are great and all but lifting weights would round out your routine, I would imagine.

tiffanylee 08-04-2011 12:28 PM

yea i would like to.. but honestly i know not the first thing about starting that. i have one free personal trainer session.. and that might be useful..

runningfromfat 08-04-2011 12:51 PM

I highly recommend the book New Rules of Lifting for Women. I really love it and it'll give you advice (with pictures!) and give you an exact routine to do.

DietVet 08-04-2011 01:19 PM

I second the New Rules of Lifting 4W advice. It tells you exactly what to do in the free weights section of the gym for 6 months and its a great, really challenging series of workouts. You'll get WAY more out of that program than you will from using all the machines at the gym.

fitmom 08-04-2011 01:22 PM

tiffanylee: I got most of my 'so-called knowledge' about lifting from websites. You could goggle around and some sites offer explanations with pictures so you could print them out. I did that for my kettlebell circuit and it helped me get started. Just a thought.

tiffanylee 08-04-2011 01:56 PM