Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 11-11-2017, 11:10 PM   #1  

Default Insights about gastric sleeve surgery

I am new to this forum, excited to learning some insights about gastric sleeve surgery. How many of you have had successes to relate?
Arabella4535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 06:49 PM   #2  
Fat Cat

S/C/G: 199/198/150

Height: 5'2"

I am new to WLS too. Right now I have been approved for a Gastric Sleeve and started the hoop jumping. I am a teacher so I am hoping to be ready for surgery June 2018. I will have the summer to recoup. I would love to hear any insights, tips, tricks, etc. I am so excited.
catmalvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 12:09 PM   #3  
Slimming down in San Fran

S/C/G: 275/191/150

Height: 5'8"

I had my WLS (sleeve) just about 2 weeks ago. I am almost done with the 2-week liquid phase and soon will move onto the soft food phase. I am AMAZED so far at many things:

* My rate of loss, about 1 pound a day! (though this is projected to slow to 3-5 pounds a week to finish out first 90 days, then 2-4 pounds a week until my one-year anniversary)

* My knees already feel SO much better

* I have a lot of energy on 400-600 calories a day! Enough to walk a max of 5,000 steps so far. I know I probably will not be fueled enough to do stuff like a 1-hour aerobics class, but I find it remarkable how good I do feel burning my own body fat!

* I can wear a amethyst family heirloom bracelet already that my wrist was too big to wear before

* My rain jacket slips easily over my hips now, when before it got hung up on my butt

This is the most successful "diet" I have ever been on, and I am hardly hungry too! HUGE FAN.

Best wishes on your own journeys! I found the best source for up-to-date info was my surgeon's monthly seminar, which also included 1 hour of discussion with past patients who attend to answer questions and to get their own support.