Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 05-18-2011, 05:50 PM   #1  
Releasing the inner hiker

Default Why can't I do this?

Last August, I started a reputable bariatric surgery program. As my insurance requires at least 6 months of care prior to surgery, I took the program at a reasonable rate. Regardless, I was done with the 2 sleep studies, 6 support classes, 2 support groups, 2 psychiatric appointments, 2 nutrition workshops, 2 exercise consultations, and numerous blood tests by December. The only requirement I am still struggling with is to lose 10% of my initial body weight.

In essence, I had to lose about 35lbs and I’ve been working towards this goal since August…10 months. And it has been SO hard for me. I wonder if the struggle to lose this weight is my mind’s unconscious desire to NOT have the surgery. I am almost 40 and I can not get a handle on my weight. I have tried and failed so many times that I am finally pursuing this option, an option five years ago I swore I would never do. But I really feel this is one of those last hope options, as my health is definitely in decline.

I do have a surgeon’s consult appointment on June 1st, tentatively scheduled. My April weigh-in had me about 12lbs away, but if I can lose 6lbs by my next weigh-in (next week), the appointment will not be cancelled. My progress this past month has been spotty- 3 good days followed by 1 really bad day… I have no idea if I will have accomplished this goal, as I have yet to lose that much in a month since I’ve started the program. (my ticker is wrong; haven’t had the motivation to change it)

Any insight is welcomed. I just don’t know how to get a handle on my food issues and I also worry that if I can’t do this NOW, will I eventually fail after the surgery?
Zeitgeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 06:24 PM   #2  
amber

S/C/G: 318/288.8/220

Height: 5'5"