Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 09-14-2005, 11:10 AM   #1  

Question New here! How do you handle cluelessly nasty people?

I've been visiting this forum pretty regularly for a few months but have never posted before (couldn't get up my nerve!). Finally I'm ready to post and I'm glad to be here.

I'm wondering how you have handled people who are nasty without meaning to be?

Twice in the last few years I was asked when I was "due". I AM NOT PREGNANT. This is in front of othe people, it was so humiliating! One other time a very skinny woman (skinny but flabby ) put her hand on my arm as I was walking through the grocery store and said, "You could be so beautiful if you would just control your eating". The nerve! Again, in front of other strangers!

I'm able to hide how much this upsets me but it REALLY DOES UPSET ME. It hurts especially since all of these times my husband was with me. He is great, always tells me I'm beautiful, but I am sure he remembers these things. It makes me so self-conscious and even thinking about these incidents is enough to bring me to tears.

What really makes me mad is that I'm very FIT enough though I'm fat. I am 5'4" and 180 lbs, I take a brisk 1 hour walk and a moderately fast 2.5 mile swim (sometimes I swap the swim for a combination of treadmill/weights) most days of the week. That's 2 hours+ of exercise per day. I eat properly most of the time, around 2000 calories a day, but I don't seem to be able to lose weight.

I once saw a specialty doctor because my dad is hypothyroid and I thought I might have it. He tested me and wrote back a scathing letter to my normal doctor basically saying that he doesn't believe I exercise and that I'm just looking for an excuse for being a pig!

How do you handle these things? All I do is have a good cry but I don't talk to my friends or family about it because I'm so ashamed and embarassed.
sharal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 11:27 AM   #2