Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 07-09-2018, 07:40 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 180/180/135

Height: 5'3"

Default Feeling really discouraged about losing weight to have a healthy pregnancy

I started losing weight two years ago, with some success- I got 50 pounds down. Actually, I got 70 pounds down at my lowest. But in the past year that I've been trying to lose weight I ended up back in the same 50 pounds down spot- BMI of 35. I feel defeated. I know it's not safe for me or for my future child for me to be obese, but I feel like maybe I can't do it. I've been dieting for fifteen years and it has never stuck. If only two percent of people who lose substantial weight keep it off,what am I even doing here? I feel totally hopeless. I am on the verge of saying screw it and trying for a baby anyway because I feel almost certain that in a year I'll be in the exact same spot. If I've already read everything I can find on weight loss and tried so many different diets, what's going to change? Why should I expect different results from the same thing for the hundreth time?

Anyway I was just hoping someone had some hope or something new to try or something. What do you think? Probably the consensus is yes, lose 50 pounds first, but for the love of God HOW?

Last edited by Iphianassa; 07-09-2018 at 07:40 PM.
Iphianassa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 01:17 AM   #2  
mjf

Which diets have you tried? What caused you to fail in the past? Did you follow the diets, and they didn't work? Or do you find it difficult to follow diets?

Here's some advice that might help:
If you have any junk food in your home, throw it out (all of it).
Don't starve yourself. You don't need to be hungry all the time to lose weight.
Eat a lot of vegetables. Eat enough protein. Eat enough healthy fats. Drink enough water.
Avoid all foods and drinks with added sugar (check the ingredients of everything you buy). If you want to eat something sweet, you can eat fresh fruit.