Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 08-15-2016, 09:48 AM   #1  

Default how to stop the emotional side effects of being fat from affecting weight loss?

(sorry, this is really long) I am 5'6 and 233 lbs, and I am so overwhelmed by negative feelings about my weight. I've never been a skinny minny or anything, but I dealt with circumstances in my last two years of college that caused me to balloon from 150 to what I weigh now. I am now in a place in my life that is really conducive to losing weight, but there have been many things over the past few months that have externally validated all my insecurities about my appearance, which is making it REALLY hard to actually start losing weight.

1. I moved from the American Midwest to England in the beginning of this summer after I graduated college. I fit in just fine in the states, but here I am usually the fattest woman in the train car, or the restaurant, or the store. It is emotionally exhausting and humiliating, and it is getting to the point where it is difficult to want to leave the house.

2. In a uncharacteristic wave of confidence I signed up for online dating a while ago and met a guy who I immediately fell head over heels for. We talked every day for weeks and finally met up (I told him that I was overweight the day before and would understand if he wanted to cancel but he was amazing and nice about it and said he still wanted to give it a try), and had a ridiculously great six-hour first date two weeks ago. But since then his communication has significantly waned and now it's been a week since I've last heard from him. My last text to him was asking if he wanted to have a second date.