Does OVER excersizing stalling weight loss?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • So I am wondering...I have lost about 60 lbs over the past 18 months. I started out working out about an hour a day, and eating around 1400/1500. Then at some point I started freaking out and thinking I needed to workout more to lose more. I have been working out 90-120 minutes 6 days a week for many months. My weight has hit a plateau at around 154-157 (fluctuates daily) and I haven't really lost anything else for so long...maybe just a pound or two. I posted on MFP and several people said to stop working out so much. Could that be hindering my weight loss? I am scared that I will gain if I stop working out so much, but I know I cannot continue to workout like this ...not for the rest of my life anyways. I am on MFP and do NOT eat all of my calories back from excersize. It has me set at 1220 cals per day, but I typically earn a TON more calories from excersize, but I stay around 1500 Sunday- Friday. I am thinking of downing my excersize but keeping my calories the same, but I am scared I will gain. Any thoughts on over excersizing and weight loss? I am at a healthy and normal weight for my height but would like to lose the last 9 vanity pounds. :-)
  • Exercise helps me personally lose more weight and helps me get in the right place mentally to eat better, but some people find that they don't need to workout at all to lose. Food has a much bigger impact on weight loss than exercise, but studies have show that it is the most important factor in keeping it off.