Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-23-2012, 12:39 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 171/126/120

Height: 5"4

Default Is my calorie deficit too high?

Quick question, lovely forumites - I have a BodyMedia armband, which tells me that I've burned over 3100 calories today. I've only consumed 1350, which leaves me at a 1700 or so calorie deficit. Is this problematic?

I know that going below 1200 calories a day is a bad idea for women, but I've also heard that daily calorie deficits of over 1000 can actually make it harder for the body to lose weight, as it starts to think that it's actually starving and freaks out. True? Not true?
m4mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:15 AM   #2  
too big to fail

From what I've read it's your caloric intake compared to your basal metabolic rate (calories you burn w/o exercise) that you need to watch out for. I've seen nutritionists write that if you consume less than 50% of your bmr worth of calories you may experience a large decrease in your overall metabolism. Again, this is gleaned from several sources and you will find many people here who will contradict expert opinion with their experience.

That said, how are you feeling? If you are feeling good and losing weight, I say go with it.
Demosthenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:38 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 234.5/ticker/130

Height: 5'4

I agree with above...how do you feel? Are you still losing weight? If not, I'd might try bumping up your calories.
CurryMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:50 AM   #4  

I've been sticking to about a 1000 calorie deficit, save for today, when I ran/walked 7k and did four(!!!) hours of house-cleaning.