Any other first-time dieters?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Sometimes I feel like the only person on this forum who isn't on their umpteenth diet! I gained weight relatively recently, and this is my first attempt to lose it. Since so much of dieting is in the head, this probably means that I approach things differently, and that different techniques will work for me than those which are ideal for someone who, say, has been overweight since childhood and is on their thirty-seventh diet. I'm sure there are benefits and disadvantages to both situations, I'm just curious to hear more about this one.
  • I'm in your same boat! I gained 5-10 lbs my sophomore year of college, and then again after I graduated, but I dropped both times without really thinking about it. I gained about 8 lbs in 6 months when I moved overseas about a year ago and it took about 6 months to lose that weight. I'm now working on losing another 6-8 lbs just because I think my body would be more comfortable at a slightly lower weight... and to give a little bit of cushion room in case I gain a little in the future.

You're right, the psyche and needs behind people who have struggled weight for a while and people who have only dieted once are totally different. I agree it's really important to respect and appreciate those differences, to really understand as you said that something that works for one person may not work for another. And especially that something that may be a piece of cake for one individual is an incredibly formidable challenge for someone else.