Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 06-09-2011, 09:18 AM   #1  

Default Returning member - could use help/suggestions

I'm at the point where I am starting to despair of ever losing this weight, and I could really use some help if anyone here has btdt.

Generally speaking, I am an optimistic, happy person. But I've grown really "defeated" about my weight and feel like I have "tried everything." I am not sure what the heck is wrong with me or my whole mentality, but I would love to hear from others who "tried everything" and eventually succeeded, what worked for you etc.

By way of backstory, I am 39 years old, married with 2 little ones. I work PT 2 days per week (I am a lawyer). Life now is very stable, but 3 years ago my DH was seriously ill and during the 2 years of his recovery, I gained 50 lbs on top of the 50 I put on over 2 pregnancies. It's not meant to be an excuse - it's just what happened.

DH has been well for over a year. But I am in this spiral of start-new-plan, binge by dinner. I have "re-joined" WW a fafillion times, read every low-carb book out there. I'm a flipping diet Expert. But my resolve plummets every day.

I am in therapy, and my therapist simply feels I have some kind of latent anxiety and am using food to assuage that stress. Ok. That's great. But she's not a weight loss expert and hasn't really advised me on what to do.

I know the answer is as simple as "just stop." I think for me I need to just pick a plan and stick with it. Any plan will do.

Anyway, sorry for the long post. If anyone can share a similar experience, I would so appreciate it.

-Daisy
Daisynyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:58 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'