Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-05-2011, 03:03 AM   #1  
Grace

S/C/G: 188/Ticker/154

Height: 5'9

Default Motivation NOT to crash diet and to take it slow

Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to this but just wanted to get some sort of support/motivation at the start of my weight loss journey!
I wouldnt class myself as fat but I am definately overweight as far as the scales say and I have just weighed myself and I am the heaviest I have ever been...ever! I am 5'9 and 13 stone 3 (185 pounds i think) and it has highly depressed me, when i met my boyfriend 3 years ago (im 23) i was floating happily at 154 pounds and that was definately my happy weight and would do anything to get back there at the click of my fingers! I have been forever dieting, then eating for 6 and gaining it all back plus more and I just need some opinions of why crash dieting is not the way forward and why i should get on the slow weight loss wagon...

Also what is classed as slow, I would love to lose 3 pounds a week but I heard thats still not healthy and wouldnt know how many calories to eat (I run/walk 4 times a week).

Any advice is welcome, i just need some support before i start living on cereal!
Blondie160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:26 AM   #2  
Le geek, c'est chic

S/C/G: 232/see ticker/150ish

Height: 5'2" and change

Hello, Grace!

As a pound-a-week (or so) loser, I can tell you a little bit about why it works for me. Other people may prefer to lose more quickly with more restrictive plans, and as long as they stay healthy, that is A-OK too--but I'm really loving this slow meander for the most part. Sure, sometimes I'd like to just have it done and get to my goal, but I'd say 90% of the time that I think about it at all, I'm happier this way.

Here's why:

- I never--I mean never--feel deprived.
- I don't get lightheaded, queasy, shaky, or drowsy the way I have on more restrictive plans.
- My food tastes awesome