3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight Loss Support (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support-13/)
-   -   New here - and really down atm! (sorry looong and whingey post) (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support/107313-new-here-really-down-atm-sorry-looong-whingey-post.html)

CatPaws 03-15-2007 08:42 PM

New here - and really down atm! (sorry looong and whingey post)

Hi everyone!!!:)

I'm new here...well technically I have been lurking here for a while, but I seem to be REALLY struggling today and decided to be brave and actually post!!

Anyway, I should admit that I am kinda lucky I guess in that I am not technically overweight I think (haven't stepped on a scale for a while) but rather on the hmm larger side of average if that makes sense (and rather embarassingly unfit and untoned atm:o)...so yea wanting to lose weight is more a self-esteem thing rather than a health thing...
Its not even that i decided that I want to be you know 'model skinny' or something like that its just that since gaining weight at the outset of puberty I have felt rather uncomfortable about my weight.

My main issue is that ever since I went to boarding school about four years ago (I'm at uni now) I picked up some unfortunate habits namely comfort eating and binging (should this be in another forum??:?: )
The thing is that since my family is rather health conscious we never had too much junk food at home (except maybe some chocolate here and there -the chocoholic gene seems to be common in my family:D ) and I was not used to having it most of the time I really took advantage of the fact that I could go and buy whatever I wanted when away from home...and eating junk became less of a 'taboo' I guess...
The fact that I was kind of unhappy for most of my time there also got me into the habit of cheering myself up with big tubs of icecream etc...