Weight Loss News and Current Events Discuss the latest weight loss news headlines and major events.

Old 01-05-2013, 11:16 AM   #1  

Default Too much unabsorbed calcium causes obesity

Ok, full disclosure, I am not a scientist. I know I could be wrong. But, over the last year I have really been looking for more than just want the general dogmas say. First thing, I am not sure of any science as gospel. They are not always right or accurate. But with that said I made kind of an interesting discovery that I wanted to put out there and see what you guys think,,, and when I say that, just try to have an open mind. If you love your dairy don't be threatened... you can still have calcium, you just have to make sure you get the nutrients that will counteract the problem.

I have recently had a bad problem with too much calcium both in myself and my cat. My calcium is normal but on the high side. And my cat has slight hypercalcima. But all other tests come back normal (so the cat or myself don't have any sort of glandular problem) What I believe it is -- my tap water is just full of calcium (hard water). Over the years I have had -- plantar fasictis, and joint pain and I drank my tap.

One day, while tooling around on the net... someone suggested that calcium -- too much or not properly absorbed can cause problems in the body. There was a long list but one of them was -- insulin resistance. This got my attention as I have never heard it before. That calcium -- alone - sitting out in the blood stream and not getting where it needs to go -- blocks / or interferes with cellular receptors for insulin. So, you know how insulin resistance is basically the cell no longer responding to the proper dose of insulin -- so your body has to release more? Um, what if that is because of too much / unabsorbed calcium blocking the insulin receptors in the cell?