South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 08-09-2004, 04:40 PM   #1  

Default Mexican Restaurant HELP!!!

I am going out to eat with two girlfriends I haven't seen for a while and they picked a local Mexican restaurant. Any ideas? I have only eaten there once since they opened, so I don't really know the menu. Not a chain restaurant. Maybe I'll just have to do the best I can and just pick at my food and talk alot.

Any suggestions? Thanks
Old 08-09-2004, 04:57 PM   #2  

Wink Mexican food tricks

Hi, Lyrac. I love Mexican food, and since I've been dieting for 4 months, of course I've already worked out where all the best Mexican places are for making healthy choices. My advice is to go with fajitas, no matter where you are. I like chicken and veggie fajitas--and I ask for extra vegetables

The nice thing about getting fajitas is that you put them together yourself. It's not like getting a burrito, where you can't really see how much of it is rice and how much is meat. It's not fried, and it's low in carbs (avoid the beans and rice--they're not usually very good, because they're full of sodium). You can also take home your leftovers--unlike a burrito, which will get soggy, they'll wrap the extra tortillas separate from the meat and veggies, and you can eat them for lunch tomorrow.

The salsa fresca is basically calorie-free. The sour cream is around 50 for two tablespoons, and guacamole is a little higher (it varies by preparation). A small tortilla is usually 80 calories. The marinade on the chicken and veggies adds precious few calories, beause it's not oil-based, so the chicken is generally pretty low, too.

You'll do fine. You can make good choices anywhere. Have fun and enjoy dinner!
Old 08-09-2004, 05:14 PM   #3