South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 06-05-2004, 11:26 AM   #1  

Smile Another newbie phase 1 day 5

Hello

This is my first post here. I have been lurking for a while and this is such a nice board. All the information here has been so helpful to me! So, thank you

I am 281.5 pounds right now (down from my highest weight of 315). I'm new to the south beach diet and I really love it!!

I have done atkins in the past and it really made me ill. I did not get enough potassium due to the low amount of veggies and my blood pressure dropped like a rock. I will NEVER do that again!

South Beach really makes me feel good and I feel much better about the nutritional aspect of it as well.

I have a question I was wondering if you would help me with. In phase 1 is powdered coffee creamer allowed? I use the fat free milk now, but if the powdered stuff was allowed I would prefer it as it is creamier. Yummmmm coffee.....

Thank you in advance for your help!

Beth
Old 06-05-2004, 12:25 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 307/187/130

Height: 5'4"

Welcome Beth!!! I started South beach May 1st of this year weighing in at 242, I am now down to 224, tomorrow is my official weigh in day but I was 224 as of this morning. I, Like you, tried atkins, but I found that the high fat in that diet caused me to have some serious gastrointestinal problems, and excuse the following description but, I couldnt eat a meal with out crapping it out an hour later lol :blush:

I think powdered coffee creamer is allowed but not sure, I used non fat powdered non dairy creamer. Also check out ebay for some good prices on Davinci flavored syrups to flavor your coffee, yogurt, ricotta etc... They have tons of flavors!!

Good Luck!
Michelle
Old 06-05-2004, 12:35 PM   #3