3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   South Beach Diet (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/south-beach-diet-110/)
-   -   Is Phase 1 sustainable for a lifetime? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/south-beach-diet/292064-phase-1-sustainable-lifetime.html)

jdpgolfer 01-25-2014 09:18 PM

Is Phase 1 sustainable for a lifetime?

Hello all,

I am brand new to this (site and the diet). I have been battling sugar for years and just became aware of it after reading this book.

My typical day prior to 5 days ago was as follows:

Skip breakfast and drink pop, energy drinks, AND coffee until 11am. Workout - then go to qudoba or the like and eat a huge lunch with about 3 diet cokes. Then go home, have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich around 3pm with a glass of milk and maybe some vanilla waffers. Then have a huge dinner, then desert, then wake up EVERY NIGHT around 2am with the most intesne craving for carbs / sweets imaginable... wake up - resolute to "eat better" and repeat cycle..

I read the SBD and thought I'd give it a shot. The results (so far) have been really good. I quite drinking pop and energy drinks (still having a few cups of coffee throughout the day). I've followed phase 1 I think pretty well. The cravings that I had just a few days ago are gone (knock on wood). I don't feel so bloated after eating and I no longer feel a slave to food.

Here's my question...

Why would I ever get off of phase 1? The example I'd give is if someone is an alcoholic or drug addict we don't have them sober up for 2 weeks then "drink moderately". The reason is - they have proven over years and years that they can't drink moderately.

So, if I've proven that I can't eat sugar / carbs moderately why would I ever re-introduce them into my system. Is it a nutritional thing? Is it that after two weeks your body "resets" and is able to process the carbs without triggereing the cravings?