3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Simply Filling/Core (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/simply-filling-core-158/)
-   -   What are you having for dinner tonight? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/simply-filling-core/102660-what-you-having-dinner-tonight.html)

septembersgoal 01-21-2007 06:12 PM

What are you having for dinner tonight?

I'm having "Taco Junk" which I've never tried before. I know there are several recipes out there (we might have one on our board, I don't know) and I'm not sure where I got this one!

Taco Junk
1 lb ground turkey or beef
1 small can chopped or diced green chilies
1 can Mexican stewed tomatoes
1 can corn, drained
2 cans (15 oz) pinto beans (rinsed and drained)
1 packet dry taco seasoning
1 packet dry ranch seasoning
1 medium onion
1 can mushrooms (optional)

• Brown the meat with the onion and drain the fat.
• Add the other ingredients and simmer from 20 minutes to one hour.
• This can be served as a stew, over rice, in taco shells, etc.

I'm not using mushrooms and instead of green chiles did a can of Rotel. Also, only 1/2 a pack of ranch seasoning because I only had one and want to make some ff ranch dip this week!
I think we'll be eating it over brown rice...I'll let you know how it goes. :hun:

susie_sunshine 01-21-2007 06:22 PM

that actually sounds really good!

We're having pasta and tomato sauce with tons of hunks of veggies and a little ground turkey..

Katpo 01-21-2007 06:31 PM

That sounds good, Melissa! I'm going to write it down to save.

septembersgoal 01-21-2007 06:32 PM

Well what are you having, Kathy? :D That soup sounds delish...I'm sure it doesn't compare, but Progresso has a tomato basil soup (which I haven't tried, but DH liked it). They also have a "Hearty Tomato" soup which is really, really good.

Here's another version of the Taco Junk:

Taco Junk
• 1 pound ground turkey or lean ground beef
* 1 onion -- chopped