French Food and Alcohol

• Hi,

I'm studying abroad in France for 6 weeks starting in June! I know its a long way away, but I'm worried about my weight! I want to continue losing weight and reach my 155 goal by the end of the summer, but I'm not sure if I'll have enough room to pack a scale, I don't know a lot about french food point-wise, AND my schedule might be too planned-out and tightly-packed for exercise! Do people have different eating habits there? What can I expect? I'm also worried about alcohol -- I'm in college, and I know everybody will want to go out on the town at night... and we all know alcohol=points. I don't know what they drink over there, and how many points everything is!

Help!
  • it is a different culture completely and especially when it comes to food.

i would recommend getting a couple of books i know of that document french culture so you can try to avoid some faux pas. Almost French by Sarah Turnbull (this is about an aussie girl who moves to Paris) and French Women Don't Get Fat. I am sure you have heard of the latter.

French Women Don't Get Fat should give you some good ideas on how to enjoy yourself while watching your weight and is ideal for you.

Moderation is the key with french cuisine.
  • French food is not as bad as we think it is. They actually eat very well. They don's consume as much fast food as North Americans do and they eat smaller portions and the meals don't seem to be as heavy.

The trick is to get plenty of exercise by walking, (which most French people do) eat plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables, limit sweets - but don't deprive yourself- and watch your portions on bread, wine and bakery items.

Drink water with lemon or drink Perrier with meals and have have one glass of wine per day if you want to.

Enjoy your trip!
  • Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables will be easy to get. Portions should be smaller as well and way more expensive, unfortunately.