100 Days To Go

• There's a 7-mile race I'd like to enter in exactly 100 days. I plan to walk, not run, the entire distance. I'm overweight and out of shape, but I just don't have the discipline to stick with an exercise program unless I have a concrete goal like this. So I've been doing aerobics (Firm tapes and Gazelle) and eating right for about two weeks now, but I still run out of steam after about 25 minutes. Does anyone have any advice on increasing my stamina?

By the way, I'm about 70 pounds overweight. Naturally, I hope that working toward my goal will cause me to drop some weight, but watching the scale makes me nuts, so I'm trying to concentrate on fitness instead of weight.
  • The only way to increase your stamina is, well, to keep exercising! You might take a look at the Couch to 5K program. http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtmlIt's designed for complete beginners to move into running. Even if you can't do it on their schedule, you still have plenty of time to prepare for your race. I did the program in 2000 at about 60 lbs overweight and was able to do a 5K at the end, and one about 6 weeks later in which I ran - not fast - all the way. Stick with the exercising and you'll do great.
  • Stick wih exercising, the more you do the better you get at it, no matter what your exercise of choice be it walking, running, eleptical or whatever... Patience is key! Keep up the great work and keep us posted... I know you can do it!
  • Thanks for the encouragement, WaterRat and Ilene! I guess I really know that it's just a question of sticking with it, but I was a little surprised and disappointed at how out of shape I turned out to be. I didn't think I had backslidden quite so far. But I do intend to stick with it and see what the next 100 days (or 97 days, at this point) bring. Then I'll need to find another goal. I'll keep posting my progress.