Clicking Knees

• Hi- I've never posted here, but I'm wondering if anyone else's knees click when they bend them (especially after a run). I've been running for a few years (no crazy speeds or distances), but the clicking is getting worse- shoud I be worried?
  • I had clicking knees in the past, before I started losing weight. It wasn't just after a run (run? Back then? Yeah, right!) but whenever I had to move the joint. My doctor told me that I was losing cartilege in there, and my kneecap wasn't "tracking" properly. It did get better as I lost weight.

I think you should be somewhat concerned. If it is the same thing, it can be serious. Blowing out a knee can be a lifelong hassle. I'm not trying to scare you, but I do think that this is worth seeing a doctor about, even if it isn't hurting.
  • Is there pain with the clicking or just clicking? Does it mostly happen when you do squats or all the time? Is there grinding too?
  • I have grinding in my knees but it doesnt hurt. Should I be concerned as well? Sorry to infringe on someone elses topic, but just had to ask. Thanks!
  • Grinding is called crepitus. It's usually a sign of a roughening in the inside part of the kneecap. Often occurs with chondromalacia patella/patellofemoral syndrome. You don't need to be concerned, except be vigilant about keeping your quads strong, to encourage the patella to track properly.
  • Everyone has crepitis in their joints, so don't be over concerned about that. Is the clicking a loud superficial sound or a deeper one? And does it only occur after activity?