pilates tips. anyone?

• i am currently doing pilates ( i have winsor and 4dummies) in addition to walk/run cardio. i am new to pilates, but i can honestly feel a difference in these early stages....i am asking for those w/ more expertise to 'kick down' some of the stuff they have figured out. for ex, i have to do it on an empy stomach, cuz that bellybutton to spine thing is difficult in itself...is this your experience as well?
    for one thing, could anyone, in their words, describe this powerhouse bellybutton to spine thing
  • Pilates is wonderful! I have been doing it a year and seeing amazing results. If you lie on your back, suck in your stomach to the point where your lower back hits the floor. This is what they mean by stomach to spine. You shouldn't feel any pain. I agree that any type of pilates/yoga is better on an empty stomach. I am lucky enough to have a wonderful pilates instructor, who studied Stott pilates. She is not a big fan of Winsor, because of the quick way the instructors do the movements. She has us to all the postures/movements very slowly. This is just something to think about. They have Stott videos out there for purchase. Keep doing it, I have NEVER noticed such a difference in my body! Hope this helps!
  • I too do pilates, and the bellybutton to the spine thing, to me, is isolating the abs and not so much about "sucking" as that (to me) implies using your diaphragm (i.e. sucking in your breath?) but of physically pushing your stomach muscles down using your core muscles. If I do it right it puts into play all the abs, the butt, and the lower back.

I drink a couple cups of coffee with milk in the morning, but there's no way I could do pilates after eating solid food.