Feeling weird in college?

• So I'm in my second semester and my classes are going really amazing! I love them.

One thing I feel weird about though is trying to make friends with guys. I generally don't care if you're a guy or a girl. We're in the same class, let's be nice to each other and talk.

I generally just try to strike up a conversation with people around me, and get to know my classmates. I feel like it goes well usually, but I feel like guys think I'm just being desperate and must think they're hot or something.

Perhaps I'm just being paranoid though. I talked to this one guy a lot last semester because we always sat in the same spots and he was always there. He brought up his wife a lot and I felt like he was trying to give me a hint, even though I was definitely not hitting on him. I generally play for the other team, if you get my drift?

It's still awkward though. I'm there to learn and be social so I don't want to feel like I can only talk to girls without feeling like the guy thinks I'm hitting on him. Does anyone else have this problem?
  • I wouldn't worry about it, honestly. If a guy thinks you're hitting on him, that's his problem. I mean there's a difference between carrying on a conversation and flirting. If he can't tell the difference, it's on him. Just continue being friendly and talking to people. At my college at least, everyone talks to everyone. I'm sure 99% of people will be responsive to you and you hitting on them won't cross their minds.
  • Thanks.

A lot of it's probably in my head. I feel like people assume fat=desperate. It's just not the case, but I'm used to hanging out with adults so when I meet people closer to my age I have no idea what to expect.