Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 07-27-2011, 09:48 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 318/288/165

Height: 5'9"

Smile Once and for all!

Hi all! Newbie here.... I've been poking around here for a couple of days, it seems like there is a lot of positive support, so today I registered. I'm Kate, and I started my weight loss journey on May 18. My starting weight was 318, and as of today I am 298.4... I am THIS close to my first 20 lbs lost!!

I've had weight issues pretty much all my life, but particularly for about the last ten years. I've done Weight Watchers a few times and lost up to 50 lbs. one time, but gained it back. Five years ago I was going to fitness classes, walking, did a running clinic and actually ran a 10K, but although I was fitter I didn't lose weight. I guess I just wasn't committed to it enough to diet AND exercise at the same time, and one without the other doesn't seem to work for me.

This time I really feel differently about it, however. I am looking at this as a lifestyle change rather than a diet. I want to lose the weight once and for all, and I need to stop taking my health for granted! While I expect I will hit times in the future when I might feel discouraged, at the moment I am feeling more confident than I ever have before that I CAN do this!! I am very lucky to have an extremely supportive boyfriend who is doing this with me. I have a long way to go, and looking at the big picture can be rather daunting, but I'm trying to focus on small milestones.

I'm not following any specific diet, but using the MyNetDiary app/web site to count calories and track nutrients and exercise. At the moment I am doing walking/running intervals on a treadmill, and Bob Harper's "Power Walk" DVD. I will add some weights soon.

Hoping to get to know some weight loss buddies here, and looking forward to learning & sharing tips, motivation and successes!
Katybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:23 AM   #2  
Made of Starstuff