Jogging speed (what's wrong with me?)

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Does anyone have suggestions on how I can slow down my jogging? I'm a beginner so I can't jog for long. I'd like to build up my endurance. The problem is I can't seem to jog slower. I jog on the treadmill at about 5.0-5.5 mph. Can't go for too long because I feel like I'm about to pass out due to my breathing. However, if I slow the treadmill down to about 4.5, I seem to get tired quicker because it takes a lot of effort for me to not run faster. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Am I just a weirdo?
  • Hi Pink Sparkle!
    Running speed efficiency is something that's discussed a lot in running groups. It sounds like your body may have found an optimal running speed, at least for now. I personally find it easiest to run within a 9-9.5 min mile pace than to run either faster OR slower. There was a fascinating article in Science Daily in March 2009 about this - I can't post the link (I lack enough posts here!) but here are a few quotes from it:

"The most efficient running speed determined in the study varied between individuals but averaged about 8.3 miles per hour for males and 6.5 miles per hour for females in a group of nine experienced amateur runners."
    "Interestingly, the slowest speeds — around 4.5 miles per hour, or about a 13-minute mile — were the least metabolically efficient, which Steudel attributes to the gait transition between walking and running. For example, she points out, both a very fast walk and a very slow run can feel physically awkward."

So, I think your body may know that it's easier to just RUN than to try to slow-run/fast-walk at the 4.5 pace. It seems likely that stamina will come with time. Run/walk interval training may be the way for you to work up to longer periods of uninterrupted running on the treadmill, rather than slowing down your overall speed.

You can find the article by searching "running speed efficiency" on the web.
    Hope this helps!