New clothes on a budget?

• Hi folks-

I'm sure this has been discussed, but I went back several pages and wasn't able to find it.

I had surgery on Monday (Feb. 22), so I'm still in the recovering on liquids phase. But I've already lost nine pounds, so serious weight loss is already a reality for me. After being obese my entire life, this is all very surreal.

Anyway, it won't be long before I need new clothes. Problem being: I'm on a budget. I'm a college student who isn't getting any financial support from my parents. All of my extra money is going to pay the hospital, and I'm graduating in May (at which point I'll be moving to a new city). Yes, it would have been ideal to give myself extra time to save up money before the surgery, but I wanted to be on the right track by the time I entered the job market.

So, to those of you who are post-op, do you have any budget-friendly tips for new clothes? I simply can't justify spending much for clothing that I'll only wear for a few weeks.

I'd sure appreciate any advice you guys have for me. Thanks!!!!!
  • I would always buy a couple of pairs of jeans at Walmart for $12 and a couple of $5 shirts and rotate them, but I don't work outside the home so that might not work for you. Thrift stores and clothes swaps are an other good way to get new to you clothes cheap. And of course consignment shops are good. I got a dress for New years eve for $5 and it looked brand new.
    Gook Luck to you and keep up the good work
  • I'm not post op but thrift stores are amazing and target has some awesome 25%, 50%+ off sales....if they have any Ross stores where you are, they have some pretty good stuff for cheap.
  • Me too heartface, not post-op but I recently started an exec type job where before I've always worn uniforms. My pre-weight loss clothes were way too big, so I had to buy new ones.