How many calories should I be eating?

• I am shocked by how many calories I eat in a day!!

I am 139 and would like to get down to 115 (or perhaps 125, depending on how I feel at the respective weights).

I exercise 6 days of week -- with a goal to do cardio all six days and strength work 2-3 days. My cardio is usually -- in this order of frequency -- running (C25K, so I'm just a beginner!), Turbo Jam, walking on an incline, or the elliptical.

For healthy, but steady, weight loss, what would a reasonable daily calorie intake?

Thanks!
  • There are several websites that you can use to calculate your RMR (resting metabolic rate).
    - http://nutrition.about.com/library/b...tion_guide.htm
    - http://www.calorieking.com/tools/weight_maintenance.php
    - http://www.calorie-count.com/calories/calories-goal.php

There are more out there and also some formulas you can use but I don't have them bookmarked so I can't remember what they are. Hopefully someone else will post some.

When using these tools, it's important to note whether they are calculating the calories you need to maintain your current weight or to lose weight. If they are giving you maintenance calories, a rule of thumb is to subtract 500 per day to lose 1 lb per week. (You need to burn 3,500 calories more than you consume to lose 1 lb). But don't go below 1,200 calories per day; you need to consume at least this much to ensure you get the nutrients you need.

Also, remember that this is an art, not a science. You can use the websites/formulas as a starting point but then you may need to tweak it a little bit. Another method to use, especially since you know how many calories you are consuming now, is to just subtract 100 calories per day until you start losing weight. This way you are consuming the maximum calories you can to lose weight, which gives you some room to drop your calories if you hit a plateau.