PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 07-30-2011, 04:52 AM   #1  

Default I know no one can diagnose me but a Dr but...

Hi

I'm a noob and recently introduced myself over on the Introductions forum.

Well, I suppose I should just jump right into it.
I know that no one can diagnose me but Dr but I have a good few symptoms of PCOS and wanna know what you ladies think. (I know that at the end of the day I still need to get the tests done etc but I'd still like some opinions)
My symptoms are as follows:
-Irregular periods, less than 6 (usually significantly so) a year with either really heavy or really light flows. They weren't always this way though, they used to be normal from the time I started (10-11) but became off-kilter at about 13-14
-Always struggled with weight. I maintained an (unhealthy) 180lbs for years but in the last couple of years I have gone up by 50 pounds with no real change in diet/exercise.
-Mild excess body hair, but it's still excess. I get a few dark hairs that extend around where sideburns would be if they were worse. They've also been appearing on my shoulders. Also a few that are darker blond (I'm blond) on the lower stomach.
-Mild acne on the face and shoulders.
-I wouldn't say I carry all of my weight in the middle, because I have thick legs/arms/etc but... I have an insanely small bust (A cup) which is really oddly portioned when compared to my size 14/16 jeans and L/XL shirts in order to accommodate my middle.
- 'normal' body hair does grow pretty fast/coarse on legs, arm pits, etc. This may just be genetic since my super-fertile, thin, has 7 kids and stayed 106lbs mother has pretty coarse body hair as well.
-I don't know if this one's a symptom, but for a couple of years my periods including HORRIBLE cramps/pains that brought me to tears and had me laying in bed all day.