Article - Even a thin person can get diabetes

• Even though we've lost weight, it's important to remember that we're still at risk for Type 2 diabetes. Here's an article worth checking out:

Read the article here: Even a thin person can get diabetes

The author discusses cutting carbs to reduce his risk of diabetes. Along those lines, my son is a Type 1 diabetic and we were shocked by the highly refined-carb heavy diet he was given by the hospital dietitian when he was first diagnosed. All processed white bread, pasta, and cereal -- the standard ADA diet. Only recently have nutritionists and dietitans been getting on board with the idea that there are good carbs and bad carbs, with profoundly different effects on our blood sugar levels.
  • I'm a nurse & I work in a hospital and I have always wondered about the poor quality of carbs we serve. With the knowledge we have now about carb metabolism, I have to think it's becauses the white stuff is cheaper for the hospital budget, but sets a poor example for the diabetic patient. Our cafeteria isn't any better. We even have a McDonald's in our hospital! I have a young co-worker who is a Type I diabetic who regularly eats a Big Mac and adjusts her insulin pump to compensate for it. And she regularly has problems keeping her glucose levels stable! I don't know who she's fooling, but she says she doesn't eat that way all that much. (I did ask her about it.)
  • Anne, you are so right! When DS was diagnosed with diabetes, he was admitted to our local children's hospital and I stayed four days there with him. My only food option was the cafeteria and it was truly shocking. This was after I lost weight, so I was trying to eat healthily, and it was almost impossible. All the chicken and fish was breaded and fried. Alternatives were pizza, hot pretzels, and nachos. But there was a huge array of desserts. And this was a health care facility!!