3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Living Maintenance (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/living-maintenance-170/)
-   -   Maintainers Winning the Battle of the Bulge (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/living-maintenance/290659-maintainers-winning-battle-bulge.html)

traveling michele 01-08-2014 12:38 PM

I want to voice my displeasure with some food manufacturers and their deceptive labeling-- in particular Orowheat. I wanted to change up my lunches so thought I would try tunafish (I had been eating salads everyday). I studied all of my bread options closely and settled on a Pita Pocket. I quite enjoyed them and was happy with my choice until I went to pack today's lunch and looked again at the label. It is 100 calories for half a small pita. I was eating two halves so 200 calories just for my bread! I never would have bought it. I find this type of advertising misleading. Trader Joes also does it with some of their ready to eat salads. Most are 1 serving but there are a few that trickily are two. I think they put that they are two servings on the label just because label readers wouldn't buy a salad with 500 calories, but they will buy one with 250. Grrrrr..... Back to the drawing board. I brought a wrap today instead that is 60 calories for the whole wrap!

We've talked before about not realizing how many calories we eat for various reasons and I wonder how often this type of thing is the culprit?

Saef-- You'll be down quickly. If I recall, it was an evening appointment and you always weigh more in the evening than the morning-- not to mention the extra clothes! Did you check to see if the recommended doctor is in your network?

Shannon in ATL 01-08-2014 01:33 PM

Michele - try FlatOut wraps.

silverbirch 01-08-2014 02:32 PM

No butter or peanut butter on Tuesday. No cakes, biscuits or pastries. Streak is 7.