Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 05-01-2018, 02:57 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 227/155/145

Height: 65

Default Newbie here! First time trying 16:8

Hi all - I have several autoimmune conditions that cause chronic pain more days than not. I've always been an emotional eater, carb addict and have struggled more with the compulsive eating since my pain ramped up several years a

In 2010, I weighed 172 pounds. I now weigh 214 and most of that was gained by eating when pain got so bad I couldn't sleep. Would get up and eat several bowls of cereal in the night when couldn't sleep due to pain. I cut back to part-time work August 2012 and weighed 223 then. So I've not lost much even though I rest a lot more not working full-time. Nothing--even the increased rest--helps much with the pain. Have tried so many RX and alternative pain remedies, but it looks as though I'm stuck with it.

I do take Norco10 some days. The opiates don't help the pain a whole lot but the opiate buzz does help dim it a bit. But you can only take a few every few days or you lose the buzz effect. Chronic opiate therapy did not work. Also have xanax for sleep. I've tried to restrict both these meds due to side effects. The way I take them does not carry an addiction risk and I don't have an addictive personality other than food. Know that from heavy drinking in college (until I got a C in one of my chemistry classes so cut the partying!) and no problems gradually weaning off chronic opiate therapy.

Counting anything ...carbs, calories, points even using great tools just doesn't work for me. Days I'm in pain, I simply don't have the motivation to enter foods, ect and am more likely to eat off plan.

My doctor thinks upping med use at night to sleep is the lesser of the two evils when looking at meds vs obesity. At age 51, I do not have obesity related DM, HTN and my lipids are good. Realize as I age that there's more of a chance I might develop obesity related issues like those.