I've Finally Had Enough

• I knew I had put on some weight but I hadn't had the guts to actually step on a scale for probably three, maybe four years, until this past Sunday. I went to a concert over the weekend to see my favorite band and when I woke up in the hotel the next day I could barely move. I pulled out a shirt I had just bought the previous summer and it didn't fit...it wasn't just a little snug - I couldn't button up any of the buttons. What was supposed to be a fantastic and exciting weekend with some old friends turned into one of the worst experiences of my life. I realized I wasn't just fat, I was morbidly obsese - in the very clinical sense of the word.
    I went home and stood and the scale and nearly passed out when I realized that at 5'9 I weighed 310.6 lbs. I had doubled in size since I graduated from high school sixteen years ago. When I met my husband thirteen plus years ago I weighed about 190 lbs and he weighed about 330 lbs - he has a very active job and has since lost about 60 of those pounds, so I went from my husband weighing 140 lbs more than me to me weighing 40 more lbs than him. I feel really gross and uncomfortable. I sweat when I try on clothes. I'm out of breath just carrying the laundry up and down the stairs.
    My mother has struggled with eating disorders her entire life and I never wanted to end up like her - bouncing up and down a 100 lbs one way or the other so I just didn't do anything when I gained the 5-10 lbs here and there. And now I have to do something. I have problems fitting into restaurant booths, I can't find tights that fit me because of my height and my weight, I can feel myself jiggling when I move.