Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-21-2008, 11:53 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 210/210/165

Height: 5'8"

Default Hello to all from Mass

Hi, my name is Jessica, and I am a social worker from Massachusetts. I have recently decided that I want to do something about my weight. I have always been bigger. When I was a freshman in high school, I weighed close to 200 lbs. At that point, I did not necessarily decide to lose weight, but I did get involved in sports and activities, and by my junior year, I was down to my lowest weight of 150. Once i started losing weight, I became obsessed with it. I ate under 1000 calories a day and worked out often. I want to get back into that state of mind (that was over 12 years ago and I am now 210). I have always worked out, but have not been pushing myself. I tend to do 45 minutes on the elipticle a day with no weight training. Does anybody have any recomendations for weight training? I definately have problems with food now. I eat whatever I want, and that is the main thing I am trying to change. I actually have days that I plan that I am going to be lazy and eat bad food. I decided a few days back that I was going to start counting calories again. I am trying to eat under 1600 calories a day. It is hard right now. I feel hungry all the time. I am hoping that after my body gets used to it, that feeling will go away. I hope to reach 170lbs, and I hope to lose 10lbs before I go away the first week of April. I hope that I can stick to everything this time
raspswirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:06 PM   #2  
Incredible Shrinking Sue

S/C/G: 284/146/150

Height: 5'6"

Hi Jessica...I'm from MA too!

For strength training I often use the resistance bands. I like them because they are easily portable & I'm on the road for a few days most weeks. There is a whole section here on 3FC on different types of exercise...maybe you can get some ideas from there.