Old 10-13-2011, 09:41 PM   #1  

Default Why No Dairy?

Can anybody tell me why dairy is prohibited in Phase 1? For example, I can make Fat Free Ranch dressing by using FF Mayo and FF Milk. Is that acceptable? There are just a very small amount of carbs in it.

I just cannot eat the WF Ranch!
debcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:10 PM   #2  
Maintaining-March, 2011

S/C/G: 184/IP 175.6/133/130

Height: 5'4"

Quote:
Originally Posted by debcarp View Post
Can anybody tell me why dairy is prohibited in Phase 1? For example, I can make Fat Free Ranch dressing by using FF Mayo and FF Milk. Is that acceptable? There are just a very small amount of carbs in it.

I just cannot eat the WF Ranch!
I am not an expert but Ideal Protein is a low carb, low fat, low calorie diet. Dairy products have natural sugars in them. Even cheese, which might not have carbs, is too high fat for this program. IP works if you follow the rules. Tweeking it will change your results.

That said, check out the thread "Ideal Protein Receipes & Pix from Finland". Find post #111. It is a whole list of dressing recipes, very creative. I'd give you the link but I'm not that computer literate.

Good Luck to you on your weight loss journey. This program really does work!
woolberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:29 PM   #3  
Re-started IP 9.7.11

Height: 5' 4"

Quote:
Originally Posted by debcarp View Post
The short answer is no and I've stewed over why that is for a long time. It finally dawned on me that along with fat and weight loss one of the main objects of the program is to improve many other things, like sugar levels, blood pressure and, in this case I think, colesterol. The prohibition would be most important to vegetarians who eat a lot of eggs, cheese, milk, yogurt, etc. But if you can make the dressing using the tiny bit you're allowed for your morning coffee, then it should be OK.
Linden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:58 PM   #4