General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 09-15-2004, 04:27 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 284/260/160

Smile HELP! Atkins Newbie!

I am new to 3fatchicks.com. I have decided that I CAN NOT go one more day overweight. I have decided to make a lifestyle change. I have 2 small kids that I need to set a good example for. I am going to Cancun in November and don't want to look like a beached whale! I want to start the Atkins plan tomorrow. I would like to know what is a good menu to start out with. I am a carboholic! I know I have a 2 week induction phase that will help my cravings. I would just like to know from people who are actually doing the Atkins plan what has worked for them.
grn ize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 05:02 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 233.9/143/160

Height: 5'7"

grn-my advice to you is this: if you plan on starting Atkins tomorrow-make sure that you have the book, and that you have read it all thoroughly from start to finish. It will provide all information, menus, allowed foods, basic outline of the plan in its different phases, and everything you need to start.

Second-realize that permanent weight loss is slow and steady. November is only a month and a half away-so don't set your sights too high as far as a large weight loss by vacation time. A healthy weight loss can vary from 1/4 to 2 pounds per week.

If you need help and support specifically for the Atkins plan-try the low carb forum here at 3FC-there are lots of Atkins and other low carb followers over there.

Good luck to you,
Aphil
aphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 09:50 PM   #3