General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 09-04-2013, 11:57 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 224/see ticker/142

Height: 5'2"

Exclamation I need to stop smoking-- how about you?

Hi Group. Just a newbie now (today and already around 30 posts...lol) But, I'm thinking of quit smoking (a 30 year habit for me, btw) on top of getting my weight under control...am I crazy? Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe there are some new friends here at 3FC that wanna stop along with me. (You can read my introduction to see the stress I'm already under besides weight/smoking issues, rather than reposting it here).

If you are interested in stopping smoking along with me so we can support each others cause, please sign in. I don't have a time frame idea yet- maybe we can all come up with an idea for a plan. I've never stopped with a "buddy" (or dozens of buddies) before.

I know this will be a challenge. I have been smoking for 30 years (1-2 packs a day), and have only ever stopped two times in my life.

Once a few years ago with Chantix, which was a great and no side effect; this is until I started smoking again about 3 months later when my husband's health (cancer) took a really bad turn....and I tried Chantix another time, later, for like 4 days (and had HORRID nightmares which are a common known side effect so I stopped taking it straight away!!!), and last summer, cold turkey- (don't know how I managed, but something happened to my Spirit and I just suddenly STOPPED one day and it was about three days before family asked me if I'd stopped-- I didn't even realize I didn't smoke anymore-- strange- hope it works this time that painlessly!) That was for a couple of months. But, alas, started smoking again.

Any takers out there?