General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 04-12-2013, 03:23 PM   #1  

Unhappy I just need to rant about my exercise buddy/sister

!!RANT ALERT / NOVEL ALERT!!

So I find myself in a bit of a frustrating pickle and need to write it out. My sister, “Buddha Sis”, is my exercise buddy (a term I use very loosely) but the only thing she is exercising is my patience.

Buddha Sis had been wanting to lose weight for a very long time now, but the stars never seemed to align. In May 2012 she found out she was pregnant and decided she needed to at least maintain her weight for the duration of the baby-baking. She suggested we walk together as I had been walking on my own for a few months at that point. I agreed and soon regretted the decision.

~ She walks so much slower than me. While I can’t fault her completely, as she is a smoker and I’ve been walking longer, I can fault her for not even attempting to walk faster. I tried to tell her she wasn’t going to get better if she didn’t challenge herself, but she always had an excuse for not picking up the pace.

~ Because she walks slower than me I had to slow down. I ended up not getting as much out of the walks as I use to. I felt like we were just strolling and I started to resent her a bit.

~ She whined about strength training and refused to do it as it was “too hard”. Between compromising for her, cooking all my own meals, and everything else I let strength training fall from my routine (a mistake I can only blame myself for.)

~ She negated anything our “walks” may have accomplished by ordering out every night.

~ She and the husband have a camper up in PA that they go too on the weekends. This is not camping in the traditional sense – the camper is like a small rancher (running water, full bathroom, stove, fridge, heat/AC, cable, etc.). There was no restraint while there, she would eat whatever and however much she wanted without a second thought.